Can I end a chat from the Dashboard?

An agent can close a chat from the Dashboard so it's no longer visible. However, only a visitor can end a chat.


There is no direct function for ending a chat in the tawk.to Dashboard. If you close a chat in the Dashboard, the chat will still remain active from the visitor’s side. If they send another message, it will appear as a new chat and you will receive a notification.


To close a chat in your Dashboard, click the End button in the upper-right corner of the chat window. 

Ending a chat from the widget 

A visitor can end a chat session from the widget by clicking the menu in the upper-right corner and selecting End this chat session.

After the visitor has ended the chat, they will still have the option to start a new chat.


If you have a particularly troublesome visitor and need to end a chat forever, you can ban the visitor. 

Banning a visitor 

Banning a visitor during a chat will automatically end the chat session and prevent your visitor from starting a new chat. Once you unban the visitor, they will once again be able to see the chat widget on your website and start a new chat.  


Here’s how to ban a visitor during a live chat session:


Head over to the options menu on the right side of the chat as seen below. If it's not visible, you can bring it back into view by clicking the Options button in the top menu bar.


Then, hit the red Ban button in the lower-right corner of the Details pane.

You must give a reason for banning your visitor and choose whether or not to ban them by their IP address. If you choose not to ban their IP address, the visitor can simply clear the cookies in their browser and begin a new chat. 

To learn more about banning visitors, read this article: Banning a visitor


Here’s how to remove a ban:

Make your way to ⚙️AdministrationUser ManagementBan List.

In the Ban List, you'll see all currently banned visitors. To remove a visitor from the list, select that visitor in the list. Alternatively, you can click their entry details to open up a record of what happened when they were banned.

To end the ban, click the red Delete button. 

If you want to learn more about Removing a ban, read this article: Removing a ban


If you have other questions, don’t hesitate to reach out to our support team or schedule a call.

Was this article helpful?

40 out of 55 liked this article

Still need help? Message Us